Last week we discussed DUIs and the penalties associated with being charged with DUI. Today we will look at a related charge, DUI with injury.
If you are driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, and you injure another person as a result of your DUI, you will likely be charged with DUI with injury. Throughout California, and especially in Placer County, DUI with injury charges bring harsh sentences and serious collateral consequences.
The following penalties apply to DUIs with injury with no aggravating offenses, as discussed in last week’s post . There are also enhancements for incidents that involve multiple victims.
For a first offense DUI with Injury, penalties include:
- Jail time from 5 days to 1 year (if felony up to 3 years)
- License suspension for 1 years
- Probation from 3 to 5 years
- Participation in a 3 month DUI education program
- Fine (normally totaling $2,500)
For a second offense DUI with Injury within 10 years of any previous DUI jail time increases to a minimum of 30 days and a maximum of 3 years. The driver’s license suspension is for 3 years.
For a third offense DUI with Injury within 10 years of any previous DUI jail time increases to a minimum of 1 year and a maximum of 3 years. The driver’s license suspension is for 5 years.
A DUI with injury is considered a “wobbler” under California state law, meaning that it can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the circumstances of the incident.
If you or someone you love has been arrested for a DUI with Injury, you need an attorney with the experience and legal knowledge to defend your rights. Contact me at (530) 823-5400 to confidentially discuss your case.